The faculty

Fulda Faculty of Theology is an academic institution of higher education. It is state-accredited in accordance with the higher-education law of the state of Hessen. The faculty provides students with the chance to study Catholic theology. The faculty has the right to confer the academic degree of ‘Diplom-Theologe’ (Dipl.-Theol.) as well as doctorates and the ‘Habilitation’ (postdoctoral lecturing qualification).

Our target groups are seminarians who would like to become priests, people who would like to be active in society and in the Church, and those who have a general interest in theology and would like to attend the relevant lectures. A degree in theology incorporates many different subjects (philosophy, history, law, psychology, sociology, pedagogy, etc.) which are fundamental to western culture and allow for an extensive all-round education.

We offer the chance to study theology whilst enjoying the advantages of a small faculty: manageability, a more personal atmosphere in which to study, and the opportunity to work intensively with other students whilst being supervised by professors and lecturers. 

We also offer a superbly equipped library (with over 200,000 books, 200 in-print journals), the opportunity to study multiple disciplines, to be taught by committed academics and the chance to experience the worldwide Church with students from different countries and continents.

Fulda Faculty of Theology has 11 professorships and, currently, some 40 fully matriculated students studying for diplomas and doctorates as well as around 80 people registered to attend lectures. Most of the professors also have teaching positions at the ‘Katholisch-Theologisches Seminar der Universität Marburg’ (the Catholic theology department of the University of Marburg), where they currently help to teach around 110 students training to be teachers of Religious Studies.