Study-abroad / ERASMUS programme

The ERASMUS programme for higher-education institutions is one of the great success stories of the European Union. It has been facilitating cross-border mobility of students and university teaching staff since 1987, with around 2 million students and almost 200 000 staff having undertaken a stay abroad through ERASMUS up to now.

Services available to students

ERASMUS provides European students with the possibility of studying in a different country and enhancing their social and cultural skills in order to improve their career prospects. Through their stay abroad, students become acquainted with the academic system at a higher-education institution in a foreign country and benefit from experiencing the methods of teaching and techniques of studying prevalent there. Students who wish to study at a foreign host institution for a period of between three and twelve months can receive support once they have completed their first year of study in their home country. Doctoral students are also eligible to receive support.

In order to take part in the programme, students must be nationals of one of the countries participating in ERASMUS. Students from non-EU countries can participate in the programme if they are normally registered at a German higher-education institution and are carrying out their entire course of studies there.

The programme offers students the following services:

  • a mobility grant of up to 300 € a month to help with the extra costs incurred through being abroad;
  • exemption from tuition fees at the host institution;
  • support in planning their stay abroad; this includes the possibility of attending an intensive preparatory ERASMUS language course for so-called less widely used languages;
  • academic recognition of the work undertaken in the context of a student’s studies while abroad.


The Faculty of Theology has received an ERASMUS Charter for the years 2014–2020.

Partner universities of Fulda Faculty of Theology

  • Catholic University of Paris, France
  • Catholic Institute of Toulouse, France
  • Katholisch-Theologische Privatuniversität Linz, Austria
  • Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University in Warsaw, Poland
  • University of Zagreb, Croatia
  • University of Malta, Malta
  • Saint Patrick's College (Pontifical University), Maynooth/Irland
  • Aristoteles-University Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Palacký-University Olomouc (Olmütz), Czech Republic

EUC Number